We’re excited to announce support for one of our most requested features — multiple team members! You can invite family members to join your team, assign roles & permissions to them, and suspend users that no longer participate. We also added several new screens to view and manage content, added a handy way to easily postpone a to-do, and made several other design changes and bug fixes.
Invite Family Members
Invite screen age children (over 13), grandparents, caregivers, and other family members to participate in your team. This is a great way to get everyone direct access to your shared calendar, to-do and shopping lists, and more. And even better, it’s a way for these folks to pitch in and help!
You can invite family members that you already have set up in the app or invite them as you add them. Just go into Settings > Family and select Invite to Join when viewing an existing family member or complete the Invite to Join Family section when adding a new family member. They’ll receive an email with instructions on how to install the app and join your team.
Assign Roles & Permissions
As you’re adding team members, you can also assign roles and permissions to ensure no one steps on anyone else’s toes. The “Manage Own” role is a great option for screen age children as it limits them to being able to add and manage their own content but not edit or delete other people’s content. The “Administrator” and “Manage All” roles are great for parents or other heads of household.
As an administrator, you can modify roles and permissions at any time in Settings > Family.
Suspend Users that No Longer Participate
Every family’s situation changes over time. For instance, an older child might move out of the house or your family might change caregivers or nannies. If a member of your family no longer needs to participate, you can suspend their access to your team. They will no longer be able to view any content or receive notifications. The family channel for them will be marked as archived and will no longer show up in menus, but existing content associated with them will continue to appear. If they need to participate again, you can simply un-suspend and unarchive them with no loss of data.
New View Content Screens
Clicking on any content item, including to-dos, shopping items, health & activity events, calendar appointments, and meals, will now open a screen that shows details about the item. This screen allows users to see who created the item, who and when it was last updated, and what actions the user is permitted to perform on it based on their role. Actions (e.g. edit) appear at the top of the view screen. Destructive actions (e.g. delete) can be accessed by selecting the more icon (three horizontal dots), which reveals a secondary menu.
Postpone To-Do & Swipe Action Design
We added an easy way to assign a due date to a to-do or to quickly postpone it a day. When viewing a to-do, there’s a new action that will either set tomorrow as the due date or postpone the to-do a day into the future. This action can be accessed from the swipe actions in lists as well.
In addition, you’ll also notice that the swipe actions for all items in lists (including to-do’s shopping items, and health & activity events) now use icons instead of words.
Additional Design Changes & Bug Fixes
In addition to the above, we also simplified the sign-up flow to make it a single step (rather than three steps), added a new onboarding walkthrough for new users that highlights key navigational elements after they join, replaced the avatar images used for users in messaging, and fixed several bugs.